How does the Process Whole Library Checkbox work when creating a Workflow?
When creating a workflow for the first time using the trigger conditions below, you will see a checkbox called, "Process Whole Library."
- Days After Recording Finished
- Days After Clip Created
- Hours After Recording Finished
- Hours After Clip Created
This "Process Whole Library" checkbox will determine whether you want to apply this new Workflow across your entire SnapStream Library making the workflow take effect retro actively vs only applying to items reaching these conditions starting the moment you click Save on that new workflow.
NOTE: This check box only appears when creating a workflow for the first time. It will not appear if you are editing an existing workflow.
Process Whole Library NOT CHECKED:
From the moment the Save button is clicked when creating the workflow below, Clips that are in the Clips Folder will be deleted at the moment they reach 90 days old moving forward. This will not delete clips in that folder that are 91 days old or older.
Process Whole Library CHECKED:
Clips created more than 90 days ago (that reside in the Clips Folder in this example) will be deleted along with clips that reach 90 days old moving forward.
NOTE: If we click the Process Whole Library Checkbox in the example above, we will be greeted by the message below when clicking Save for the first time.
We are being advised that this could take up to an hour to gather up how many media items this workflow will apply to, and could create a significant number of tasks for SnapStream to start processing.
For this reason, it would be a good idea to run the workflow during low usage hours to avoid users having to wait for hundreds of clips being deleted before their request to create a new clip gets processed.
If you are unsure how you should proceed, please don't hesitate to reach out to firstname.lastname@example.org for guidance.